Awards And Shortlists


2013 University of Johannesburg Prize
- for Life Underwater, a novel

2006 Thomas Pringle Award
- for The Quick Brown Fox, a short story

1996 M-Net Book Prize
- for The Jailer’s Book, a novel

1990 Sydney Clouts Memorial Award
- for poetry in New Coin

1992 Ingrid Jonker Prize
- for An Advertisement For Air, a collection of poetry

1988 Ad Donker/AA Life Award
- for Small Change, a collection of short stories


2010 Caine Prize shortlist
- for The Life of Worm, a short story

2009 Studzinski/PEN Award shortlist
- for the same short story

2006 Commonwealth Prize ( Best Book Africa) shortlist
- for What Kind of Child, a  novel

2006 Herman Charles Bosman Fiction Prize shortlist and M-Net Book Prize Honourable Mention
- for the same novel

2003 Caine Prize shortlist
- for Clubfoot, a short story

Noma Award Honourable Mention
- for The Jailer’s Book